Issue 10 is available for purchase now through Amazon for your Kindle or Kindle app (available for Mac and Android). Buy here.

In Issue 10:

Joe Baumann, ‘I Forgot to Tell You About the Bears’: Joe’s fiction and essays have appeared in Zone 3, Hawai’i Review, Eleven Eleven, and many others.  He is the author of Ivory Children, published in 2013 by Red Bird Chapbooks.  He possesses a PhD in English from the University of Louisiana-Lafayette and teaches composition, creative writing, and literature at St. Charles Community College in Cottleville, Missouri.  He he has been nominated for three Pushcart Prizes and was recently nominated for inclusion in Best American Short Stories 2016.

Sally Christie, ‘The Caretaker’: Sally is a graduate of the Advanced Fiction Writing course at The Creative Hub. She has written an as yet unpublished novel and some short stories.  She has also written for online blogs.  She is crossing off countries on her travelling bucket list.  She can be found living in Auckland for now, gathering steam for the next adventure.

Trisha Hanifin, ‘Whatever Was Bound’: Trisha writes short stories, flash fiction and creative non-fiction. An extract from her novel, Ghost Travellers, will be included in Fresh Ink, an anthology of New Zealand writing to be published in August 2017. Her short stories have been shortlisted in the Sunday Star Times and the BNZ (Katherine Mansfield) competitions, and in 2014 she won the Auckland University’s Ingenio magazine’s short story competition and was the Auckland regional winner in the New Zealand national flash fiction competition. Her flash fiction has been published in Turbine, Flash Frontiers, Headland Issue 7, and in the 2016 Bath Flash Fiction Anthology, To Carry Her Home.

Jenna Heller, ‘For The Love of Andrew Mehrtens’: Jenna, originally from the US, now lives within walking distance of a swimming beach in Christchurch, New Zealand, with her partner and their two teens. Her writing has been published in various journals including Popshot, Takahe, Poetry NZ,*82 Review and Flash Frontier.

Molly Kelly, ‘Benediction’: Molly is a graduate student at George Washington University, currently living in Washington, D.C. Molly is primarily interested in nonfiction and memoirs- but she also greatly enjoys spoken word poetry. As a student, Molly is interested in the study of trauma, and has presented her work on gender diversity and public policy at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). In her spare time, Molly enjoys eating copious amounts of pizza and olympic weightlifting.

Sharon Lam, ‘The Adventures of Mental Man’: Sharon is an architectural graduate, now an MA student at the IIML.

Rupa Maitra, ‘The Two Aunties’: Rupa lives in Wellington. Her work has previously been published in Takahe, Turbine and Headland. She completed an MA in Creative Writing at the International Institute of Modern Letters at Victoria University of Wellington in 2014.

Karen Mills, ‘Stern-Faced Angels’: Karen lives in Auckland and three years ago fulfilled a life long dream to begin writing. Stern-Faced Angels is her first short story. Her debut novel Tasting Stars will be released on August 23rd. 

Jayne Mulligan, ‘Farmers Christmas’: Jayne was co-editor of Salient in 2016, and took Pip Adams’ undergrad Short Fiction class at the IIML that same year. She has recently moved down to Christchurch and had to give away a lot of her plants.

Casey Reiland, ‘Ugly Feet’: Casey is currently a senior studying English Writing and Global Studies at the University of Pittsburgh. She originally hails from Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania where she likes spending time along the river and walking her dog downtown. This is her first publication. 

Monique Reymer, ‘Blankets for Dead Babies’: Monique is a stay-at-home mum who is never at home, with four raucous children (aged 14 to 21) and a lifestyle property complete with domestic zoo and out-of-control garden. An ex-High School teacher in recovery, she is on two school Boards as an excuse to pretend she still knows what they’re learning. A self-confessed coffee-snob logophile, she shows off with cryptic crosswords.  Seriously bad punner. In her spare time she is developing a Dutch farmhouse café and venue with her two sisters, and dabbles in property management to make it look like she is ‘working’ when all she really wants to do is write children’s stories, junior novels, short stories and poetry.

Kate Joy Tobin, ‘The Kind of Light You Drown In’: Kate is a professional dressage rider and coach, Massey AgSci student, and writer on the internet, all of which are less fanciful than they sound. Because her jobs are all hobbies, she is confined to doing taxes for fun. She is based in the foothills of Wellington’s Rimutaka Ranges.